Music Mondays: “Bed Peace” by Jhene Aiko ft. Childish Gambino

There are some days where I feel numb to the world. I want to sit and listen to music for hours. I want to write. I want to talk to the one or two people in my life that can make this hectic world still for just a little while.

And you know what? I’ve found that I have a hard time concentrating. Especially in class, and sometimes at work too. I don’t know if it’s because I’m so wrapped up in my head and in my thousands of thoughts that twirl, fall, and crash in my mind…or because I’m at a transition point in my life that doesn’t allow me to think of anything else. I have an obsession, like many people, with my future. I have begun reading the news daily, and I find myself growing cynical and bitter. On these days I want to be numb until I find the beauty in this world again.

Music does this for me.

“Bed Peace” by Jhene Aiko and Childish Gambino isn’t exactly deep. However, for some reason the beat and Jhene’s voice calms me. It does bring peace to me. I could play the song over and over again and be lulled to sleep. Childish Gambino’s voice is deep and the pronunciation of his words flows eloquently with the song. I’m also a big Yoko Ono and John Lennon fan, and the fact that the music video reflects the bed sit-in that they did makes me love the song and video even more.

On another note, I also think the song has a lot to do with slowing down and embracing the world around you. Embracing the people around you that make you feel good. The song makes me think of lying in bed with someone you love, with the sun peeking through the windows and the world falling away. I think people put too much importance on material goods, where you’ll be in five years, ten years, how much money you’ll make, what is success and what success isn’t.

What if my success is moments like that, lying in bed with music and being grateful that I’m given those moments? Is that acceptable? I think so. I think “Bed Peace” allows my generation to know it’s okay to slow down and embrace the world. To fall away from social media and the pressures to be a success right out of college and realize that things can wait, and you are allowed to enjoy each moment. That is success.

Leave a Reply

