Music Mondays: Autumn Leaves by Chris Brown ft. Kendrick Lamar

Chris Brown debuted his new album X on September 16, 2014. I was one of the many who were impatiently awaiting for him to release this album and I’m happy to say I’m not disappointed at all. While I think there are many great songs on this album, Autumn Leaves is definitely my favorite right now.

The beat captures you immediately. It’s slow and steady, and powerful. Chris’s opening lines are what first caught my attention. “If you leave this time I fear that you’ll be gone for good / So I hold on like leaves and fall to what is left / Said her father left her young and /He said he’ll be back with that same/ Tone that you just said you’ll stay forever with.” My initial thought was damn. The same tone that her father used? I liked that this song wasn’t one of Chris’s typical baby making songs. It’s heart-wrenching.

Then you get Kendrick’s rap. Besides that fact that Kendrick Lamar is currently one of my favorite rappers, he really delivered on this track too. The lyrics, of course, are deep like the rest of the song. The delivery here is what strikes me more than the actual lyrics though. His voice grows steadily stronger and angrier as he raps faster. The beat then drops again and I’m already ready to hit replay.

When I listen to Kendrick’s part, I think of anger and how it eats away at us. Kendrick talks about this a lot throughout his other work and I liked how it was implemented in this song too. Chris sings about the pain and loss, and Kendrick raps about the anger – the emotion itself, consulting with God, and how you are reaping what you sow. That’s how I interpret it and how I experience it when I listen to it.

Just another gem to share with you all on this Monday.

2 thoughts on “Music Mondays: Autumn Leaves by Chris Brown ft. Kendrick Lamar

Leave a Reply

